Boxing Day bonanza to take over NSW

Big crowds are expected to make their way to seven different NSW country tracks on Boxing Day.

Whether you’re locked in for the first session of the Boxing Day test, sitting down to watch the start of the Sydney to Hobart yacht race, lining up ahead of a big shopping spree, or heading to the races, Boxing Day is a great day to be an Australian.

Boxing Day race meetings are generally well-attended family affairs, and a chance for regional communities to catch up over the Holiday break.

This year will be no different, with Racing NSW hosting nine meetings on Tuesday, December 26.

Of course, there is a metropolitan meeting at Royal Randwick, headlined by the $250,000 Group 3 Summer Cup (2000m), and the provincial meeting at Newcastle, but the real action hits the country circuit. 

In the Northern Rivers, Ballina will host their six-race Sky 2 meeting, which kicks off a busy little period ahead of their Sky 1 meeting on Friday, January 5 and their Showcase Ballina Cup meeting on Friday, January 19.

On the Mid-North Coast, Wauchope’s annual Woop Woop Cup meeting will see visitors from all over the state make their way up north. 

In the North West, Quirindi will host their Murrurundi Cup program, and Inverell will hold their Goodwood Cup meeting. 

From all reports, marquee packages and tickets for both race days have been selling like hotcakes. 

Inverell will be on the quick back-up on New Year’s Day when hosting their Inverell Cup meeting.

In the Central Districts, Wellington hosts a five-race non-TAB program, which leads into a big two-day carnival at Gilgandra over the new year period. 

South of Sydney will see Queanbeyan host the South East Racing Association meeting and Tumut entertaining the Southern Districts, with both clubs putting on a five-race non-TAB program.

Check out the links below for more on any of NSW’s Boxing Day meetings. 

Ballina, click here.

Inverell, click here.

Queanbeyan, click here.

Quirindi, click here.

Tumut, click here.

Wauchope, click here.

Wellington, click here.